Monday, March 1, 2010

3 art professionals to receive Governor's Arts Awards

The three arts professionals from Lincoln who will be honored this year with Governor’s Arts Awards are, from left, Bob Hall, Barbara Zach and Keith Heckman. (Courtesy photos)
Three arts professionals from Lincoln will be honored this year with Governor's Arts Awards: Bob Hall, Barbara Zach and Keith Heckman.
The governor in partnership with the Nebraska Arts Council recognizes Nebraska arts organizations, arts professionals and people and businesses that support the arts in Nebraska with awards at a biennial celebration.
An awards ceremony is noon April 6 at The Cornhusker, 333 S. 13th St.
Hall, artistic director for the Haymarket Theatre and Flatwater Shakespeare Company, will receive the Artist of the Year honor.
Zach, Lincoln's Symphony Orchestra executive director, will receive the Emerging Leader award, along with Jennifer Boomgaarden of the Omaha Symphony.
Heckman, musician and vice president of Dietze Music House, joins Omaha's John Beasley as recipients of the Thomas C. Woods Partner in the Arts Award.
Other winners include Walthill's John Mangan (Excellence in Arts Education), Omaha's Gospel Music Workshop (Heritage Arts Award), Brownville Concert Series and Kearney's Museum of Nebraska Art (Organizational Achievement Award) and Omaha's Fred and Eve Simon (Leonard Thiessen Award).

No comments:

Post a Comment